<a href=

Regional website


target="_blank" style="text-decoration: underline">

Regional website


Slovenia (National level) (Sl)

Slovenia located in central and Southeastern Europe has a population of 2 million. The Slovenian government have recognised health and medicine as key strategic areas for development within the country, in order to lead the way towards economic and social transformation.


Priority areas of focus will include translational medicine and active and healthy aging. Slovenia are involved in a number of personalised health initiatives including ERA-NET on Personalised Medicine, EuroBioBank and ELIXIR.

Ministry of Education, Science and Sport Slovenia

Policy document (RIS3): Yes

Policy document PM@RIS3: Yes

Major initiatives


  1. ERA-NET on Personalised Medicine  http://www.erapermed.eu/

  2. EkoSmart  http://ekosmart.net/en/about

  3. EuroBioBank  http://eurobiobank.org

  4. EATRIS  European Advanced Translational Research Infrastructure in Medicine  http://www.eatris.eu/

  5. ELIXIR  The European Life - Science Infrastructure for Biological Information  http://www.elixir - europe.org/

  6. BBMRI  Biobanking and Biomolecular Resources Research Infrastructure  http://www.bbmri - eric.eu

  7. EURO-BIOIMAGING  European Research Infrastructure for Imaging Technologies in Biological and Biomedical Sciences  http://www.eurobioimaging.eu/

  8. ISBE  Infrastructure for Systems Biology Europe  http://project.isbe.eu/


Is the region represented in: Horizon2020; Regional Smart Specialisation Strategy Platforms/Partnerships (RIS3); EIT Health/InnoStars/Regional Innovation Scheme (RIS); other?

  1. ERA PERMED, www.erapermed.eu

  2. SRIP HEALTH-MEDICINE  https://www.sripzdravje-medicina.si/en/internationalisation/

  3. EIT Health Hub, Slovenia


This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 

2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 825046

The project is co-ordinated by Department Economy, Science and Innovation (EWI) of the Flemish Government.

Department Economy, Science and Innovation - Koning Albert II-laan 35 1030 Brussels, Belgium